2/21/08 - American Nephrology Nurses' Association Announces National, Regional Election Results

Contact: Linda Alexander
856-256-2300, ext. 2411 • linda@ajj.com

American Nephrology Nurses’ Association Announces National, Regional Election Results

PITMAN, NJ – Donna Bednarski, MSN, ANP, BC, CNN, CNP, has been elected national president-elect of the American Nephrology Nurses’ Association (ANNA) for 2008-09. Bednarski’s responsibilities will include serving on the National Board of Directors (BOD) and as liaison to assigned committees. Bednarski is a nephrology nurse practitioner at Harper University Hospital, Detroit, MI.

Along with Bednarski, additional officers were elected to serve on ANNA’s BOD for 2008-09 (listed below). The new officers will assume their respective positions at the conclusion of ANNA’s 39th National Symposium in Philadelphia, PA, April 27-30, 2008.

National and Regional Officers
Rowena Elliott, PhD, MSN, RN, CNN, BC, CLNC, was elected as ANNA’s national secretary and will be responsible for all meeting minutes, correspondence and to-do lists/task progression. She will also ensure all policies and procedures are up to date and in compliance. Elliott is community outreach coordinator for Network 8, Inc., Flowood, MS.  

In the regional elections, Loretta Jackson Brown, MSN, RN, CNN, was elected to serve as Southeast vice president. Jackson Brown is chief nurse of the 94 Aeromedical Staging Squadron at Dobbins Air Force Reserve Base, Marietta, GA, where she holds the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. Nancy Pierce, BSN, RN, CNN, was elected to serve as Western vice president. Pierce is dialysis director at St. Peters Hospital, Helena, MT.

Regional vice presidents are responsible for managing ANNA’s day-to-day activities within a defined geographic area. They serve on ANNA’s BOD and act as liaisons between the BOD and local, regional and national members, as well as committees. Regional vice presidents are also assigned special projects.

Also in the regional elections, members elected other leaders as follows:

CCEs coordinate and supervise regional chapter activities, report to regional vice presidents and serve as members on appropriate committees.

2008-09 ANNA Board of Directors
With the elections complete, ANNA’s 2008-09 National Board of Directors is composed of:

  • President: Sue Cary, MN, ANP, NP, RN, CNN, Baton Rouge, LA
  • President-Elect: Donna Bednarski, MSN, APRN, BC, CNN, CNP, Canton, MI
  • Immediate Past President: Sandra Bodin, MA, RN, CNN, Superior, WI
  • Treasurer: Donna Painter, MS, RN, CNN, Corsicana, TX
  • Secretary: Rowena Elliott, PhD, MSN, RN, CNN, BC, CLNC, Port Gibson, MS
  • Northeast Vice President: Debra Castner, MSN, APRN-C, RN, CNN, Forked River, NJ
  • Southeast Vice President: Loretta Jackson Brown, MSN, RN, CNN, Lawrenceville, GA
  • North Central Vice President: Molly Cahill, APRN-BC, ANP-C, RN, CNN, Leawood, KS
  • Western Vice President: Nancy Pierce, BSN, RN, CNN, Elliston, MT
  • Executive Director: Mike Cunningham, Pitman, NJ

For more information about ANNA, visit the association’s Web site, www.annanurse.org, or contact the National Office at East Holly Avenue, Box 56, Pitman, NJ 08071-0056; phone: 888-600-2662 or 856-256-2320; e-mail: anna@ajj.com.

# # #

ANNA is a professional nursing association with over 12,000 members. Its mission is to advance nephrology nursing practice and positively influence outcomes for patients with kidney disease through advocacy, scholarship, and excellence.