5/12/04 - American Nephrology Nurses' Association Inducts New Officers

May 12, 2004

Contact: Janet D'Alesandro • (856) 256-2422



American Nephrology Nurses’ Association Inducts New Officers

PITMAN, NJ – The new officers of the American Nephrology Nurses Association (ANNA) assumed their positions at ANNAs 35th National Symposium, April 15-18, 2004, in Washington, DC.

ANNAs 2004-2005 officers were inducted during the Nephrology Nurse Day Recognition Luncheon on Saturday, April 17. During the ceremonies, Lesley C. Dinwiddie, MSN, RN, FNP, CNN, of Cary, NC, officially accepted the Vision Crystal from outgoing ANNA President Caroline S. Counts, MSN, RN, CNN. The crystal is ANNA’s tradition for passing presidential responsibilities and vision from one president to the next.

In her luncheon address, Ms. Dinwiddie encouraged ANNA members to pursue higher education, to practice nephrology nursing from a position of strength, to collaborate with providers from other disciplines, and to recruit - and then mentor - new ANNA members.

ANNA Officers, 2004-2005

The members of the 2004-2005 ANNA Board of Directors were announced as follows:

President: Lesley C. Dinwiddie, MSN, RN, FNP, CNN, Nephrology Nurse Consultant, Vascular Access Education and Research, Cary, NC

President-Elect: Suzann VanBuskirk, BSN, RN, CNN, Director of Nursing Services, DaVita, Inc., Elkton, MD

Immediate Past President: Caroline S. Counts, MSN, RN, CNN, Nephrology Nurse Specialist, Dialysis Clinic, Inc., Charleston, SC

Secretary: Glenda M. Payne, MS, RN, CNN, Nurse Consultant, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Dallas, TX

Treasurer: JoAnne Gilmore, BSN, RN, CNN, Clinical Writer/Manager of Policies & Procedures, DaVita, Inc., Scottsdale AZ

Northeast Vice President: Karen T. Burwell, BSN, RN, CNN, Clinical Manager, Regional Dialysis Center, Syracuse, NY

Southeast Vice President: Sue Preuett Cary, MN, RN, NP, CNN, Associate Professor/Adult Nurse Practitioner, Ochsner Nephrology Department, Baton Rouge, LA

North Central Vice President: Donna Bednarski, MSN, RN, CS, CNP, CNN, Clinical Nurse Specialist/Nurse Practitioner Nephrology, Harper University Hospital, Detroit, MI

Western Vice President: Lynda K. Ball, BS, BSN, RN, CNN, Quality Improvement Coordinator, Northwest Renal Network, Seattle, WA

Executive Director: Michael Cunningham, Anthony J. Jannetti, Inc., Pitman, NJ

ANNAs Regional Officers for 2004-2005 were announced as follows:

Northeast Region

Northeast Chapters Coordinator: Jean Pirozzi, BS, RN, CNN, Clinical Coordinator/Hemodialysis, St Joseph's Hospital Health Center, Syracuse, NY

Northeast Chapters Coordinator-Elect: Marilyn Eilert, RN, CNN, Nurse Manager, Hemodialysis Acute Unit, Teaneck, NJ

Southeast Region

Southeast Chapters Coordinator: Cindy Richards, RN, CNN, Nephrology Clinician, Children's Health Systems, Birmingham, AL

Southeast Chapters Coordinator-Elect: Cheryl L. Groenhoff, MBA, BSN, RN, CNN, Kidney Patient Educator, Baxter HealthCare, Renal Division, South Florida Region, Park City, IL

North Central Region

North Central Chapters Coordinator: Sylvia M. Moe, BSN, RN, CNN, Dialysis Staff Nurse, Mayo Medical Center, Rochester, MN

North Central Chapters Coordinator-Elect: Susan Blalock, MS, RN, CNN, Administrator, Dialysis Treatment Center, St. Louis, MO

Western Region

Western Chapters Coordinator: Pete-Reuben Calixto, BSN, RN, CNN, Clinical Nurse III/Transplant Coordinator, University of California - San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Western Chapters Coordinator-Elect: Joan Camarro Simard, MS, RN, CNN, Information System Coordinator, Utah Dialysis Centers, Salt Lake City, UT

# # #

ANNA is a professional association comprised of more than 11,000 nephrology nurses. Its mission is to advance nephrology nursing practice and positively influence outcomes for patients with kidney or other disease processes requiring replacement therapies through advocacy, scholarship, and excellence.