ANNA's DAISY Award for Nephrology Nurses Advancing Health Equity

ANNA's new logo and DAISY Partner logo
Introducing the Daisy Award for Nephrology Nurses Advancing Health Equity

The American Nephrology Nurses Association (ANNA) is proud to announce the launch of the Daisy Award for Nephrology Nurses Advancing Health Equity. This new award recognizes exceptional nephrology nurses who go above and beyond to deliver compassionate care and address health disparities among vulnerable populations.

About the Award

The Daisy Award for Nephrology Nurses Advancing Health Equity honors nurses who demonstrate a commitment to:

  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI): Promoting a welcoming and inclusive environment for all patients and colleagues.
  • Health Equity: Reducing disparities in healthcare access and outcomes for underserved communities.
  • Social Determinants of Health: Recognizing the impact of factors like income, housing, and education on health.
  • Compassionate Care: Providing exceptional care that addresses both the physical and emotional needs of patients.

Award Criteria:

Nominations will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • Commitment to DEI: Does the nominee actively promote diversity and inclusion within their practice setting?
  • Addressing Health Disparities: Has the nominee demonstrated success in reducing health disparities for specific patient populations?
  • Social Determinants of Health: Does the nominee integrate social determinants of health into their care plan or advocacy efforts?
  • Compassionate Care: Does the nominee consistently go above and beyond to provide compassionate care to their patients?
  • Impact: What measurable impact has the nominee's work had on improving health equity outcomes?

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Candidates will be nominated.
  2. Candidates must have been actively involved in nephrology nursing-related health care services for at least two years & be in good standing with their employer. 
  3. Candidates must demonstrate a commitment to DEI principles, success in reducing health disparities, integration of social determinants of health into their work, consistent delivery of compassionate care, and the overall impact of their actions on improving health equity outcomes.

Nomination Process

Nominations for the Daisy Award for Nephrology Nurses Advancing Health Equity will open on July 1st and close on July 20th. Candidates do not need to be a current member of ANNA. The ANNA Board of Directors will review nominations and select the winner by July 23rd. The winner will be announced at ANNA’s Nephrology Nursing Summit September 16-18 in Atlanta, GA. 

Ready to submit a nomination?

Submit a nomination now

The winner will receive: 

  • Complementary registration to Nephrology Nursing Fall Summit
  • 1-year complimentary membership to ANNA
  • Award certificate 
  • DAISY Foundation portfolio for the award certificate
  • DAISY Lapel Pin
  • Healer's Touch sculpture

ANNA's Commitment to Health Equity

ANNA is committed to advancing health equity for all patients with kidney disease. The Daisy Award for Nephrology Nurses Advancing Health Equity is one way we recognize and celebrate nurses who are making a difference in the lives of vulnerable populations.

Additional Information:

About ANNA: The American Nephrology Nurses Association (ANNA) is the professional association that represents nurses who work in all areas of nephrology. Established as a nonprofit organization in 1969, ANNA has a membership of more than 6,700 registered nurses in over 60 local chapters across the United States. Members practice in all areas of nephrology, including hemodialysis, chronic kidney disease, peritoneal dialysis, acute care, and transplantation. Most of our members work in freestanding dialysis units, hospital outpatient units, and hospital inpatient units.

ANNA develops and updates standards of clinical practice, educates practitioners, stimulates and supports research, disseminates knowledge and new ideas, promotes interdisciplinary communication and cooperation, and monitors and addresses issues encompassing the breadth of practice of nephrology nursing.

About the Daisy Foundation: The DAISY Foundation is a not-for-profit organization, established in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, by members of his family. Patrick died at the age of 33 in late 1999 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), a little known but not uncommon auto-immune disease. (DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System.)

The care Patrick and his family received from nurses while he was ill inspired the creation of The DAISY Award®, an evidenced-based means of providing nurse recognition and thanking nurses for making a profound difference in the lives of their patients and patient families. 

In addition to the DAISY Award®, the Foundation expresses gratitude to the nursing profession internationally in over 6,500 healthcare facilities and schools of nursing with recognition programs that honor and celebrate nurses wherever they practice and throughout their careers. More information is available at